JH – 70k and counting

I’ve gotten into something of a slump. I hit 50k for NaNoWriMo on the 19th; this was the first time I finished before the final day and I did it by a wide margin. But now I’m having trouble keeping up with my daily goals beyond that. The impending deadline doom has gone and I’m back to my usual feeling that as long as the book gets written eventually, it doesn’t matter if it’s not today.

Not good.

The worst part is that I keep having ideas. New, shiny ideas that, while jotted down in my running file of new, shiny ideas, will not let go of my brain. And with my interest already flagging in JH, all I want to do is be finished so I can start planning those new stories. That and start reading fiction again. I’ve been on a book-buying spree and while part of it is the good holiday deals available, most of it is a way of coping with my serious withdrawal. I’m banned from reading fiction while actively writing anything more than a short story, on the grounds that it messes with my voice. But hells, I need to read.

Barring some friendly brownies finally taking up residence with me and writing the next three chapters, the only way to get to THE END and all the rewards and freedoms that come with it is to write to it one word at a time.  Time to dig deep and find one more reservoir of stamina. Just 35 scenes left.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment