50k and JH in haiku

Yep, JH is now over 50k, halfway through my projected length. That is a little over where I would like it to be, only because the next scene is my midpoint, so I’m running a bit long. That’s okay. I have finally reached that point of zen acceptance of anything I write. It will all get fixed when I edit. So, scene that consists of nothing but dialogue and scene that is 500 words too long, I am unperturbed by you. You cannot defeat me. I am too cool to notice you.

On the NaNoWriMo forums, I’ve started watching the Suck Haiku thread, where we condense our fictional failings into seventeen syllables. I used to write haiku often, if poorly. I have even, when I studied Japanese in college, attempted, if very poorly, to write it in its native language. So, in the NaNoWriMo spirit of doing foolish things before an audience, I present:

Jackrabbit House Haiku

Hanite builds beasties,
morals make her work harder,
now I must as well.

The Jackrabbit House,
a story named for Rivem:
she needs to speak more.

Lonet hates being poor
but loves her city too much;
loyalty can kill.

What we do for love:
Oakshiver will marry up
for fame and parties.

Bear got tamed, brought home,
made a scene and won a war–
feral life was fine.

Ebrit and Tonlit:
love the way it should be done
meets its end too soon.

And finally, a little nonfiction:

Needed a new view:
three scenes written in a barn,
mice offer no help.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment