A New Year and then some

While I recover from an exciting bout of maybe-food-poisoning, I’m getting around to some overdue digital house cleaning. I’ve been away since, uh, November. Oops. So, to sum up: I won NaNoWriMo ahead of time, made it over 50k, and then stalled out; December happened, much as car accidents do; and the start of a new year has seen me tinkering with more physically creative projects (jewelry-making, anyone?) and wondering where the past two months went.

Now I’m trying to figure out how to get myself back into the right frame of mind to finish up Jackrabbit House. Even though it runs counter to my usual methods, I’m thinking I will reread what I have so far, not to edit, but to sink back into the world of the story. Meanwhile, I will repeat to myself the new mantra, “Writing is not just for November, damn it!”

Now I’ll go away and dream of the day when I can eat more than plain toast and tea.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment