Daily Snippet, 1-24-12

I ignored the kick in my stomach from the fear of being arrested, accused, found out. “They obviously don’t know who I am or I would have been hauled in already. They would have cause enough. If nothing else, just because I have your master key, doesn’t mean I haven’t been trespassing in quite a few residences.”

 “Just as you say. They don’t know.” He crossed his arms. “But I am less than comfortable with encouraging further scrutiny.”

 “I’ve been the very model of discretion. That was, after all, the reason you hired me.”

 “Moreover,” he added loudly, “I haven’t heard anything from you on the case. From my point of view, the issue is no closer to being resolved than it was when we hired you.”

from Incognito: the Vertical Street

I’m having fun being really unkind to my characters. Since I’m skipping around and leaving out scenes, they’re not even getting the full force of it. I’m sketching out the whole plot, beginning to end, before filling in the missing parts. So right now, I’m going through the final clues leading up to the climactic scenes. Which means I’m at my most vicious. Friends are in danger, allies turn their backs, and not even home is a safe haven. I’m a mean, bad person and I LOVE it.

The next part up will be the resolution, when the bad guys get their punishment. I don’t even have to feel bad about that part, so things are looking up.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Daily Snippet, 1-24-12

  1. My job is to be mean to bad people and even meaner to the good guys. Daily Snippet: #Incognitoverse http://t.co/REBV0jO9

Leave a comment