Divine Revelation

I was in the bookstore today, browsing the writing reference section, from which I have been rightly banned by my loved ones who keep having to lend me money for books, when I came across Illustrating Children’s Picture Books. The first page I opened to was a case study on Elusive Moose, illustrated by Clare Beaton, which has hand-sewn artwork made from linen and felt and rope and all manner of goodies.

Whoa. Full stop. My god, the ways in which I want to do this, this of all things. Yes, please.

I’m planning how I can do an illustrated version of Save Yourself. I am slightly hindered by the fact that I have absolutely no experience with anything even loosely labeled as “art.” But I am not going to let that deter me. I am full of stitchy goodness and I am on a goddamn mission. This will be amazing.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment