Are my horns showing?

I just wasted an hour, when I should have been writing HoC, writing a review on Goodreads.com. Incidentally, I am a Goodreads author (oh, that is just such a weird feeling). After obsessing over the review, I ultimately chickened out of posting it. I need to sleep on it. I fear it was just a little more hell-fire and damnation than I maybe needed. It was a review of Lev Grossman’s The Magicians. I received a sample booklet of it at Comic-Con 2009, fell in love, then made the mistake of reading the rest of the book. Never before have I actively hated a book. But. I need to let it go for now. Whoo. Deep breath.

I am once again within striking distance of being on-track for NaNo. Ugh. I can’t seem to catch a break with it this year. I am also tinkering with what I want to do for the Dec. 2 Working Review, which I need to write during the course of November. I think I want to do something related to description. Everything with HoC is very sparse, which is how I want it, but I long to indulge in something properly florid.

I also long to read fiction again, which I keep promising myself I will do if I reach my daily word goal. But every time I do, it’s so late that I can’t stand to stay awake. If I’m asking why on earth I’ve committed to doing this again, it must be week two. Here’s hoping I survive long enough to get over it.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Off Topic, WIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment