SEA – 184, and light at the end of the tunnel

Oh, god, am I tired. Touched base with the story, but not much more. We met another main character for the first time. Maybe it’s all the years of dealing with certain family members with a penchant for mild racism, but I am a little too good at writing subtly (or not so subtly) prejudiced characters. It’s something of a guilty pleasure, as well, to say all the rude things we all think at times (oh, come on, admit it) through a character who thinks these are the only correct views. I may not admire her attitude, but she’s very easy to write. Started hinting at some of the big background conflicts my world is facing too.

Also, I have a possible lead on the Sunday column issue. Clearly, there won’t be one today and there mightn’t be one next Sunday either, while I get things planned out. But I feel like there is a strong chance this idea will pan out. The only problem I have: I think it’s going to turn into a novel on me. This fills me with dread. I am trying to think of a way to structure it like a season of a television show. Each episode, a complete story, collectively building the larger narrative of the season. This is more ambitious than I can bear to think about. So I think I’ll go to sleep and think about it tomorrow.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment