NaNoWriMo, once more with feeling

It’s that time of year again. I will once again be participating in National Novel Writing MonthNaNoWriMo Participant badge. I had seriously planned on last year being my last NaNo, at least for a while. It can be inconvenient, as someone who writes (er, sort of) full-time, to juggle my schedule and planning around to leave November free to write another (no, god, another?) new long project. Also, my track record of actually revising my NaNovels into something usable is dismal. Like, make me fall asleep crying in despair, dismal.

On the other hand, I am

a) not doing anything better with my time except making a whole host of little plush jellyfish keychains (I’m thinking of selling them. Thoughts? Warnings? Suggestions for voluntary admission to psychiatric wards? All are welcome and probably needed.)

and b) still very much in love with the hectic enthusiasm of NaNoWriMo.

So I’m doing it again. Last year, when I did two novellas, I did have a better time of actually finishing the plots of the damned things. Hell, I’ve even been editing one. This time, I’m going for 60k of one short novel. Yes, it’s part of a series, or will be, because I haven’t been taken over by pod people yet. I’m still me, therefore, series. It might qualify as young adult, but that’s a bit of genre quibbling that I’m not going to worry about right now. I have multiple places I could put it and that’s good enough for me. Also, I’m back on fantasy because sometimes, what I really need are giant spiders and god-powered horseless carriages.

The novel currently has the unglamorous working title Gods & Butlers: Friends Divided: When a hard-luck teen runs away to become house god, the best friend trying to bring her home ends up with the wrong family and must bridge a feud to reach her.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment