Because revisions

…were the only things that had any hope of getting done, that’s what I’m doing. I keep running into walls, particularly with Incognito. Every time I do, I think, oh, well, I’ll work on something else for a while and let that one stew. Which is fine–I think the path of least resistance is an underrated option–but I got fed up with never finishing anything.

So now I’m editing one of last year’s NaNoWriMo stories. This is a little bit of avoidance, changing projects again, but I like revisions and I have a better track record for slowly plugging away with them than I do with first drafts.

Part of this is that I really, really want–NEED–to get something finished, edited, and self-published. I could really use even the most meager of income streams right now. Not just for the money itself, which I fully recognize is not going to be a life-altering amount any time soon. No, what I need is the psychological boost of accomplishing a goal and the sense of even a little security and self-sufficiency. I don’t have either at the moment.

That’s where I am and why it’s been quiet here (along with being seriously ill for a couple weeks). At some point, I’d like to write about Anime Expo, which I went to at the start of July. For now, uh, I’m just really grateful that I’m getting something done each day.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP, Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment