One Year of Small Wonders

(Er, I’m actually a bit late–the anniversary was the second, but I, well, forgot. Thought I had a few more days into the month than that.)

So, Small Wonders is one year old. I’m not sure what to think. On the one hand, it seems like such a short time and I’m tempted to complain at how little I’ve accomplished during it. I’ve had nothing more published, excepting what I have at SS*BB, and I’ve spent an unattractively large amount of time planning, tinkering, and taking showers.

But on the other hand, I can remember the conversations I had with not entirely willing listeners about my plans for my new, shiny blog. I threatened to do a regular column of writing demos and, lo and behold, I did actually have that. (I probably should get back to the Working Reviews though, shouldn’t I?) I had vague notions of doing something about food. And several couples. Something about free fiction. I got House of Cats, which, well, I think that puts to rest my complaints about getting nothing done.

So, as it turns out, I’m pretty damn pleased with my first year of blogging and my first year as a pro (or something close). I want Small Wonders to remain useful, interesting, and shiny, long after it stops being new. I look forward to continuing it.

Here’s to a year of good stories and letting others hear them. And here’s to many more years to come. Thanks for reading.

Writing while looking ahead,

Joyce Sully

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment