Shabby Crap

It’s hard to update a blog that doesn’t exist. Like, oh, say, my Goodreads.com blog, which has disappeared for reasons unknown. I anticipate an exciting discussion with the people in power over there when they get my message. I doubt my security has been compromised, as all other aspects of my account remain unaltered and I have access to it. And my little book review blog could hardly have generated anything that could be deemed a violation of any TOS.

So that leaves a bug, which would be a good thing if it didn’t make me think that all my entries might be lost. Which makes me really quite sad. I know I don’t maintain blogs all that well, I know Tiny Charms wasn’t anything spectacular, but I had grown rather accustomed to it. The prospect of six months of work disappearing does not fill me with joy.

In other news, I am trying to decide my plans for the next couple months. The anthologies due in the middle of May (this weekend, I will remind you) are just not going to happen, which is unfortunate. But now I’m looking to June and July in the hopes that I can get the drop on some of the projects coming up then.

It is also my sincere hope that I can finish writing the remaining HoC episodes by the end of May. I am determined to write the last two episodes and edit them together, rather than the usual strategy of completing and posting one before moving on to the next. I have no margin for error at this point and this is the ending. If I commit to something in the penultimate episode, then decide I want to do something different to get the ending this story needs, I won’t have that option any longer. So. Two and a half weeks of intensive work should bring me to the end of this vast project.

Finally, the prompt for the June/July issue of Shousetsu Bang*Bang has been released and I am chomping at the bit to get started on it. I am working an existing idea into the prompt, which will be easy enough, though I had every intention of just going off theme if necessary to write this story. Perhaps once I finish writing HoC and have time to really get started on this, I will post some teaser material. Like the title. Which makes me smile every time I think of it. It’s a winner. I kind of wish I could spend the rest of my life writing stories that can go with this title, because I find it just that charming.

I’ll be thinking of it and consoling myself while I wait to find out where the heck Tiny Charms went.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Off Topic, Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment