Even a break looks like work

I know I’m cutting it close, but I gave myself the day away from the story before settling in to edit. Because I wrote a few scenes out of order, I had to reread sections to orient myself. That means I am getting into the territory wherein none of the scenes make any sense any more and I have no ability to judge what should stay and what should go.

So instead, I gave myself over to Saturday morning cartoons (yes, well, everyone has their weaknesses) and notes on the next large work I want to do after House of Cats. I’m tentatively calling it Off the Market, though I use another title for all my notes. I don’t, or rather can’t, let myself get too involved in it until HoC is finished, but it’s a nice thing to play with when I’m not working on current stuff.

I worked out the rough ideas for a new system of magic to use for the story. And I liked this one idea so much that I went out and built it. It’s a little contraption inspired by the staking of ley lines used in geomancy. I built this version out of the following: heavy paper, a bamboo kitchen skewer, tin foil, a bottle top, a piece of plastic soda bottle, super glue, and adhesive tape. Which is to say, it looks less than impressive, but it was so cool to having something that I could bring to life. I have it overlooking the computer right now. I’d like to build a fancy version out of wood at some point.

Next up is some character development for OtM before bed. But first, I have to wait for the local coverage of the short track finals. I want to see Apolo Ohno win. (I haven’t heard the results yet, so if he didn’t actually win, I remain blissfully ignorant.)

ETA: Bronze instead of gold, but it’s still seven medals to break the US record, plus a fantastic recovery at the last minute. Go Apolo!

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP, Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment