Wordy Marathon

See, this is what happens when I dare myself to do stupid crap: I do stupid crap. That all-night writing marathon I suggested last post? Yeah, I’m going to do it.

I have six scenes left to the episode of HoC I’m working on. The way I write rough drafts, that amounts to at least 3000 words. I’ll need one 500 word scene on top of that to reach the word goal for Sunday. I’ll need to pause to figure out the scene plan for the next episode before that point.

All that should take me around three hours if I keep my forward momentum. If I go for another two or three hours, I could surely finish out the next episode as well. So, let’s say I write until 6 AM. I may regret this, but let’s see what happens. I’ll check in every half hour or so to post my progress. (I could do this over on the NaNoWriMo forums, but I can’t bring myself to start a thread just for little old me.)

Let the madness begin. Um. After a sugary beverage, however. First check-in will be 12:30. GO!

Check-In #1: 689 words. Kept writing beyond the fifteen minutes I set for myself. Good, traumatic scene. Next!

Check-In #2: 623 words. Another scene of trauma. Things are ratcheting up to disaster levels. First hour down!

Check-In #3: 551 words. Shorter scene this time. Heather feels sorry for herself. Passed the 35k mark!

Check-In #4: Took a break. Joyous marshmallow hot chocolate wearing off. Dog and cat keep giving me funny looks for being awake. Already thinking of excuses to stop soon.

Final check-in: Oof. Okay, I do regret this. I was not made to stay up past 2 AM. I’m going to pause for sleep. I did get solid work done. But I’m not satisfied. The challenge still stands. I want to get all of episodes 10 and 11 done by the end of Sunday. That should put me at something like 40k.

I can do it!

Just… not now…

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP, Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment