Other People’s Brilliance…

…always inspires me to do more. Holly Lisle just posted an announcement about her next project, a collaboration between her writing and her daughter’s jewelry making. It sounds incredibly cool from the perspective of a potential reader and buyer of unique jewelry (one of my many financially prohibited interests).

But from the perspective of a writer, I am greedily rubbing my hands together, saying, “That! That is what I want to do!” I love multimedia crossovers of any shape, form or description. Within in that I include such traditional creations as illustrated novels and comics and such new oddities as Level 26 (which I really, really ought to get around to reading, as long as I have a copy from San Diego Comic-Con). And I want so badly to do something like this for myself.

Even as I work on HoC, I am envisioning what I would like to do next for Sunday Brunch. I’m no where near making a decision on what that will be, but news like this from Holly just makes me more determined to step up my efforts next time. I’m learning as I write HoC what works and what does not. I’m slowly building a picture of what that next project will need to look like and what I’m going to need to do to make it happen. But I’m also becoming more confident with every chapter that goes up as proof that I can really make this happen. And that confidence is driving me to do something really wild.

For the moment, I have HoC to concentrate on and NaNoWriMo goals to meet. But in the back of my mind, wonderful things are taking shape. I can’t wait to know what they will be and share them with someone else. I can’t wait to see what I’m capable of. Good things are waiting out there in the future for me; I’m sure of that much at least.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP, Writing Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment