SEA – 177, and a ficlet-in-waiting

SEA got early but limited attention today. What I thought would be a fantastic, toy surprise sort of scene– the introduction of my secondary female character and an adventure in ocean swimming– has been strangely hard to get into. I feel separated from the scene, though I think the words I’m getting are objectively good for this stage. I think I need to cut loose with some wild dialogue. That might get me going. I can look forward to that in the next couple scenes.

I spent most of the day writing the example for the first Working Review column, which will be going out tomorrow morning. I still have to finish the article itself. Tomorrow will be an awkward day. Guests are coming and I have responsibilities to deal with while they’re here. I can’t wait for Friday, when I can take a little break.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP, Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment