Slow starts are better than none at all

I had the bad luck of opening my work today with a scene with no dialogue. Dialogue is always my go-to way of getting into a difficult scene, so I plodded for most of the day writing one sentence at a time, separated by long bouts of listening to Neil Gaiman read Fragile Things. That’s nice and all, but does little to fix the 2k+ deficit I’m writing against at the moment.

But I’ve finally made it into a scene that should be easy to write the first time through. On the other hand, it’s the sort of scene that I have a hard time editing. But that’s a worry for another day. For now, I’m just going to keep charging on ahead.

And to assist me in that, I have a new writing toy! Over at Write or Die, Dr. Wicked has created a desktop version of his program. It is now possible for me to have a cranky program glow red with anger and make hideous noises whenever I stop typing, all without ever connecting to the internet. I’ve been hoping for just such an opportunity. No, really. I have found the site incredibly helpful in the past, but my problem was always my prohibitively slow connection speed. Now, problem solved. So, I’m off to torment myself a while longer.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

