Dried up, down and out

I can’t seem to make any progress on anything. I just feel dried up. Every idea seems half-baked. I can’t stand to contemplate writing. I can’t even play video games competently. My weekend is all booked, so I’m leaving myself with two days to write the next working review and five days to write episode 2 of HoC. And no, I haven’t made a start on either one.

I’ve never learned any way to combat these moods. It’s not laziness, exactly, because I want to write. It’s like trying to draw water from a dry well. With a deadline looming, I know that I will manage to write. I will force myself to get shit done. I’m good at that. But I hate when writing turns into drudgery. I know it can’t be writing with wings every day (I haven’t found a way yet, at any rate), but it would be nice to look at a keyboard and feel something other than an intense urge to go take a three week nap.

ETA: Okay, something helpful:

In planning for NaNoWriMo, I went through my running files of neat stuff that I might want to play with sometime. I had a whole list of vaguely related items that I thought might fit into the idea that I had. So tonight, I broke out that list and put each item on its own page in a word document. Ten minute timer set. Free wrote about the first one. Got some interesting world-building or special physics type ideas. Think I might end up with a ghost story. I’ll try to do the others tomorrow evening. I feel less awful now, if nothing else. But I might also be getting some useful ideas.

About Joyce

Joyce Sully lives in Southern California. She graduated from UC Irvine. She likes to knit and cook and play video games. But mostly she writes. Joyce writes short stories and novels, songs and poems, scripts and instructions to feed the cat if she stays out late. She has been spotted as far afield as Seattle, but travel makes her nervous. She believes in magic and dragons and ghosts, but is not convinced her next-door neighbors are real.
This entry was posted in Writing Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

